Call to sign and distribute: Stops attack on Afrin!!! Against the war for peace

Last week the Turkish military started bombing Afrin and now the Turkish military is threatening Afrin by marching across the border and occupying Afrin with jihad mercenaries. Turkey wants active or passive approval for this attack from countries such as the USA, Russia, Germany, etc. The next war is about to start.

Afrin has been a self-governing canton for years, with one woman and one man each having equal rights in the canton administration. Afrin as part of the de facto autonomous Democratic Federation of Northern Syria (Rojava) was important in the fight against IS. IS was beaten off both in Iraq and in Syria by the active resistance of the Kurdish, Arab and Christian populations. What IS didn’t accomplish, is now going to be accomplished by the Turkish Republic: Destruction of the democratic structure in this region, where Christians, Muslims and Yazidis etc. live together peacefully.

Turkey wants to continue its warfare despite internal and international resistance. One can remember that the peace academics were dismissed and persecuted because they didn’t accept the bombing of the Kurdish cities in Turkey. There are many HDP and CHP members, journalists and intellectuals who have spoken out against the war. Turkey still trusts that it can start wars and carry out massacres because even the genocide against Armenians is not recognized by Turkey. The stability achieved in Afrin is being undermined because Turkey does not want a democratic structure in this region, which could be seen as a possible alternative for the people of the region.

Therefore, we call on unions, democratic parties, intellectuals, academics and activists to speak out against the next war in this region. Avoid any military and political support of Turkey. Stop arm sales.

To sign:


  1. Dr.Halis Yildirim / Munich - GEW member ( The Education and Science Workers' Union)

  2. Assoc. Prof. Ides Nicaise - Faculty of Psychology and Educational Sciences - KU Leuven

  3. Prof. em. Sabra J. Webber - The Ohio State University, Ohio, USA

  4. Dr. Mesut Keskin, University of Hildesheim, Faculty Member, Institut of Philosophy

  5. Prof. em. John Weeks - SOAS University of London

  6. Prof. Dr. Verena Krieger (Jena)

  7. Prof. Dr. Clyde R. Forsberg Jr. -American University of Central Asia, Bishkek Kyrgyzstan

  8. Full Prof. Luigi De Gennaro, PhD - , Dept. of Psychology, Univeristy of Rome Sapienza

  9. Kamuran Akın -Humboldt University PhD Candidate and Academics for Peace from Turkey

  10. Arash Dosthossein – Refugee activist – Refugee struggle for freedom, Germany

  11. Prof. Silke-Maria Weineck - German Studies and Comparative Literature, Translation Advisor, Comparative Literature, University of Michigan

  12. Narges Nasimi – Refugee activist – Refugee struggle for freedom, Germany

  13. Hasan Saglam - Ex-refugee from Turkey and artist and autor

  14. Meryem Cag, Refugee, Member of Trade Union BES (Turkey)

  15. Assoc. Professor Sabra Webber - The Ohio State University

  16. Prof. Alan Goodman - Biological Anthropology, Hampshire Colleg

  17. Jeff McMahan - White's Professor of Moral Philosophy. Professorial Fellow, Corpus Christi College - Oxford

  18. Prof. Gayatri Chakravorty Spivak - Columbia University

  19. Em.Prof.Dr. Herman De Ley - Ghent University, Belgium

  20. Serhat Yildirim - medical student Ghent University (Belgium)

  21. Dr. Ersin Asliturk - Ph.D., Instructor, Psychology and Social science, Douglas College

  22. Prof. Michael Loughlin - Fellow, England Centre for Practice Development, Canterbury Christ Church University

  23. Daniele Savi - Italy

  24. Prof. Dr. J.T.V.M. (Joop) de Jong - University Amsterdam

  25. Prof. Dr. Andreas Zick - Universität Bielefeld

  26. Süleyman Ates -Bundesausschuss für multikulturelle Angelegenheiten der GEW

  27. Prof. Mehmet Ugur - University of Greenwich

  28. Prof. Drucilla Cornell - Rutgers University

  29. Ludo De Brabander - representative from Vrede vzw, peace organisation in Belgium (

  30. Prof. Mine Gencel Bek -Academics for Peace

  31. Professor Toby Miller - Loughborough University London

  32. Christian Kesteloot - Division of Geography and Tourism, Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences, KU Leuven

  33. Andrew Crosby, researcher, Université Libre de Bruxelles

  34. Prof. James Dickins -Prof. of Arabic, University of Leeds, United Kingdom

  35. Assoc. Prof. Robin Celikates - Department Philosophy, University of Amsterdam

  36. Prof. Charles Taylor - McGill University

  37. Dr. Nil Mutluer, Humboldt university

  38. Prof. Alex Demirovic - Universität Frankfurt

  39. Prof Dr. Patrizia Nanz - Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies University of Postdam

  40. Dr. Utku Sayın - Universität Bilefeld

  41. Prof. Mehmet Oturan - Université Paris-Est Marne-la-Vallée

  42. Prof. Dr. Andreas Arndt - Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

  43. Professor Malcolm J. W. Povey BA, PhD, FInstP, CPhys, CEng , Professor of Food Physics, School of Food Science and Nutrition, University of Leeds

  44. Dr. Deniz Yonucu - Leibniz-ZMO

  45. Prof. Avital Ronell - NYU

  46. Marie Scheirlinck - Belgium Bacbi

  47. Dr. Mehmet Rauf Kesici - University of Duisburg-Essen

  48. Dr. Mustafa Sener - University of Bamberg - Academics for Peace from Turkey

  49. Dr. Hakan Mercan- Germany - Academics for Peace from Turkey

  50. Prof. Dr. Markus Tiedemann - Philosophiedidaktik und für Ethik, Technische Universität Dresden

  51. Prof. Dr. Christine Hanke, Media Studies, Faculty of Languages and Literatures, University of Bayreuth

  52. Dr. Nicholas Smith - Senior lecturer (ph.d.), Department of Philosophy, School of Culture and Education - Södertörn University

  53. Prof. Frederick Neuhouser, Barnard College - Columbia University

  54. Jun.-Prof. Dr. Béatrice Hendrich - Junior-Professur für türkische Sprache und Kultur, Orientalisches Seminar der Universität zu Köln

  55. Prof. Judith Butler - University of California, Berkeley

  56. Prof. Seyla Benhabib - Professor of Political Science and Philosophy, Yale University

  57. Prof. Athena Athanasiou - Professor of Social Anthropology and Gender Studies, Panteion University, Greece

  58. Em. Prof. Aviel Verbruggen - University of Antwerp

  59. Prof. Werner Ruf - Universität Kassel

  60. Howard Winant- Distinguished Professor of Sociology, University of California, Santa Barbara

  61. Prof. Bertell Ollman, Dept. of Politics, NYU - USA

  62. Prof. Dr. Nikolaus Müller-Schöll – Institut für Theater-, Film- und Medienwissenschaft, Goethe-Universität Frankfurt

  63. Prof. Dr. Sabine Hark -Zentrum für Interdisziplinäre -Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung (ZIFG), Center for Interdisciplinary Women and Gender Studies, TU Berlin

  64. Prof. Catherine Malabou - Kingston University

  65. Dr. Daniel Bendix - University of Kassel

  66. Prof Dr. Daniel Loick- Goethe-University Frankfurt

  67. Prof. Dr.em. Jan Engelen- Kath. Univ. Leuven, Belgium

  68. Kevin Rittberger - Author, Berlin

  69. Dr. Andrew Chitty, Senior Lecturer in Philosophy, Department of Philosophy, University of Sussex

  70. Phd. Özgür Ünveren , University of Marburg - Academics for Peace

  71. Assoc. Prof. Engin Sustam - University of Geneva